My Favorite Love Songs…

Yes folks, it’s that time of year again. When everyone you know is either cuddling up to the one they love or really like, or cursing this ill-begotten red and pink holiday.

Valentine’s day :)

I’ve spent the majority being mildly (ok more than mildly…) bitter at the entire concept of this day, but with a glass of wine in my system, I’m ready to be a bit more civil. I’ll admit, my first single V-Day in 4 years was awfully strange. You know how you don’t notice certain things in others until you don’t have them? Yeah well it seemed like EVERYONE was getting flowers or obnoxious balloons or surprise gifts. Like, everywhere. *vomit*.

I think the low point of this day was when an aging hobo asked me to be his Valentine. Talk about rock bottom. lol. #singlelife.

Anyways, back to the point, where was I?…. Right, love songs. Most days of the year, I’m perfectly optimistic about the concept of love, and I am a big fan of great love songs. So below (after the cut) are some of my favorites, and if you’re late on the boat and haven’t put together a playlist for your special someone or other, hope this helps. Celebrate the Love :)

….or if you’re still bitter, holler at my good friend Modi for his Singles Awareness Day Mixtape #3, which is a great ode to those of us without someone to snuggle with tonight. (Or check him out anyways, he’s mad talented!)

Anyways, Happy Valentine’s Day, folks. I’m off for a much deserved bubble bath. And to refill my glass. lol.

despite my slightly gloomy mood, as always…

“Make Me Whole” – Amel Larrieux

“Prototype” – Andre 3000

“Fortunate” – Maxwell

“In Love With You” – Erykah Badu f. Stephen Marley

“Love All Over Me” – Monica

“Love Song” – 311

“Weak” – SWV

“Tell Him” – Lauryn Hill

“You Were Meant For Me” – Jewel

“Here I Stand” – Usher

“Sweetest Love” – Robin Thicke

“I Need You Now” – Lady Antebellum

“No Ordinary Love” – Sade

“The Only Exception” – Paramore

“The Way I Am” – Ingrid Michaelson

“LOVE” – Keyshia Cole

“I’m Yours” – Jason Mraz

“Come Away With Me” – Norah Jones

“You Stop My Heart” – Melanie Fiona

“The Fact Is (I Need You)” – Jill Scott

“TeachMe” – Musiq Soulchild

“Make You Feel My Love” – Adele

Leave a Reply

