[Insert Hair Post Here]

Hey y’all :)

So I tried my first protein treatment today, and I gotta say, the ‘fro LOVED it. lol.

My hair has been doing well, but lately I’ve noticed a little bit more shedding than normal, so I hit the net to find a solution. I’ve read time and time again about the whole “protein/moisture” balance, and when I was relaxed I know my hair responded well to protein treatments, but I just wasn’t sure. So today I bit the bullet, and decided to try out a Yogurt/Honey protein treatment, to see if I could reap any benefits.

I think it really helped! Here’s what I used: (and as always, I rarely measure accurately, I’m a big fan of just guessing lol.)

  • 1 cup (ish) of plain, nonfat yogurt
  • 1 large squeeze of honey
  • 2 tablespoons of my oil mix (equal amounts of jojoba, castor, sweet almond, and grapeseed oils)

Slapped all that goodness on the fro, and let it sit for about 45 mins-an hour. When I co-washed it out…. O_O my hair felt AWESOME lol. It felt strong and soft all at once, and thankfully not brittle or dry like some people warned (guess I’m not protein sensitive :)

After that, I followed up with a DC treatment, and since I’m all out of my SheaMoisture Deep Conditioning Mask, I mixed up something new…

  • Golfball sized glob of shea butter
  • about 1/3 cup of Lustrasilk Olive Oil Cholesterol
  • 1 tbsp of my oil mix
  • Large squirt of Tresemme Nourishing Moisture condish (basically I needed to finish the bottle lol.)

And that was a definite #win :) Rinsed it out, twisted up like always, using my leave-in spray mix and my newly mixed sheafrosting (my old shealoe mix, with an added squirt of the Tresemme for a smoother consistency.) The twists are slowly drying as I type, but they feel really good! My ends feel good, my hair feels nice and smooth, and hopefully over the next few days, I’ll notice more positive effects from the protein boost.  Me and the fro are happy :)

And I must be doing something right, because lately I’ve had a bunch of folks (friends and randoms) giving me compliments on my hair, and it makes me all warm and fuzzy inside :) lol. It’s nice to see that in such an unbeweavable city like ATL, there are still a few people who appreciate someone letting it Fro. lol

Anyways, I’m off for a serious cuddle session with my doggy, hope you all are enjoying your weekends!

2 Responses to “[Insert Hair Post Here]”

  1. Hmmm im gonna try this sounds like it might work for my hair, mine is more curly tho.;)

  2. Give it a shot! It’s not a heavy dose of protein, so i think it’s worth a try. I think it depends more on whether your hair is fine/thick/coarse, not so much the curl pattern. Good luck!

    and thanks for reading :)

Leave a Reply

