Fly Girl Creative Tip of the Week: "Jump"

Saw this lovely essay written on “Fly”, one of my daily blog-reads, and I simply had to share. It’s a beautiful way to look at embracing impending change, and definitely a great message.

Click Here to see the Original Article on “Fly”

“There’s only so much you can learn in one place,
the more that I wait, the more time that I waste.”
-Madonna, “Jump”

Jump.

When I graduated from undergrad there was only one thing I wanted to do: move to New York City. As cliché as it was it was what I was going to do and nothing was going to stop me. When a friend offered up her apartment to sublet in Fort Green Brooklyn I was ecstatic. So I packed up all my stuff and moved to the infamous borough. No plan, no money, and no job. It was probably one of the boldest, spontaneous, craziest and most immature things I had ever done. I saw something I wanted and I jumped.

That experience was…interesting. I spent a lot of time looking for work, showing my portfolio to any and every one who would look. I went out with friends I met in college. Met people. Laughed. Found a job. Hung out with co-workers. Worked but still looked for another job because the one I had was paying pennies. Cried. Got a boyfriend. Found out he was crazy. Walked a lot. Learned the city. Worked. Worried. Worked. I was going through all the motions. Until finally I was offered a job in Kansas City and decided to jump again.

All this to say, I don’t know what in the world I learned from that experience. Looking back, it was fun but it was very hard too. Maybe it was preparing me for my return to the city which would come years later, maybe it was teaching me how to hustle hard, or maybe it was just an experience, period. Another escapade I could add to my tales of life and adventure.

Life, work, creativity is just that at times — opportunities to jump, take risks and see what happens. Sometimes it results in amazing things, sad things, subtle things or nothing at all. You never know. Jumping means following your heart and letting go. Taking the chance to just do something different because like Madonna said, sometimes waiting is just wasting time.

So try it. Take a leap of faith and try that one thing you’ve always wanted to do. It doesn’t have to be as extreme or impulsive as moving to another city with nothing. It can be as simple as spending money on an expensive workshop, exploring a different culture, or applying for a job you’ve always wanted.

I take it back, I do know what I learned from that first New York experience, I learned that no matter what I am resillient and that somehow things just always work out. I learned that we are the ones who hold ourselves back from opportunities. Don’t waste time. Take advantage of life and live.

-Written by Andrea Pippins

Leave a Reply

