My Weekend at the Movies

…well not really at the movies. Although my couch is like 100x better than any movie theater seat anywhere, ever. lol. I finally got around to watching my most recent Netflix movies, which have been sitting on my counter for 2 weeks because I wasn’t in the right state of mind to watch such heavy movies. Currently on loan: “Cidade de Deus” (City of God) and “Reign Over Me”.

Initial thoughts? City of God is way better lol. Sorry Don Cheadle. I honestly couldn’t get into Reign Over Me, the plot got too deep way too fast, and in comparison to how dry the rest of the film was (read, Don Cheadle’s acting was) Adam Sandler’s VERY well portrayed character was at the complete opposite end of the spectrum, and it just didn’t fit, in my opinion. (And I’ve loved “serious” Adam Sandler ever since “Spanglish” –GREAT movie, go see it right now if you haven’t.)

And the story was kinda transparent… I mean am I the only one who noticed the guy had PTSD from like, the first scene? Really Don, did it take you that long? Lol. And as much as I love her, Jada’s character was entirely useless. There could also be the fact that the plot line hit a lil too close to home for me (I deal with people with PTSD at least once a week), but I think it was just a bad movie. lol. Too bad.

Cidade de Deus though…. *swoon* one of the greatest movies of all time. ALL TIME. Engaging story, well told, beautiful camera work… literally half the movie made me want to dust of my Portuguese books and move to Brazil. (Those thoughts were interrupted by intrusive thoughts of my horrific Portuguese 101/2 professor Katia…. and I reconsidered. “Tudo bem?!!?…. “Nao” …lol).

Aaanyways. City of God would be a great one to pick up if you’re in the mood for crazy war scenes juxtaposed against a beautiful backdrop from the P.O.V. of a struggling but gifted artist. And if you’re in for sappy Post-9/11 dramatics doused in classic rock music…. *sigh*. Reign Over Me. lol. But don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Leave a Reply

