Post-Valentine’s-ness

Ever see a movie that has such a perfectly matched soundtrack that it makes you want to illegally download buy it immediately? (lol). That’s what “Closer” is like for me. Definitely one of my favorite movies, and the soundtrack , while minimal, is phenomenal. The theme track, “The Blower’s Daughter” by Damien Rice, is such a simple song but it’s really beautiful. I can’t help but sing along everytime I watch this movie, lol.

And so it is…
Just like you said it would be.
Life goes easy on me,
Most of the time…
And so it is…
The shorter story…
No love, no glory…
No hero in her sky…

I can’t take my eyes off of you,
I can’t take my eyes off you…
I can’t take my eyes off of you,
I can’t take my eyes off you,
I can’t take my eyes off you,
I can’t take my eyes…
See what I mean? Maybe? Well whatever lol. I think it’s amazing. And watching this movie at the end of my St. Valentine’s Day Sappy Movie Marathon this past weekend really capped off the whole day for me. The movie is kind of tragic, but it’s really… honest. I mean I feel like such crazy mixed up circles of betrayal and mistrust don’t happen all the time, but they DO happen. Love can be kinda evil sometimes lol. But not always. Even though just about EVERYONE in that movie was cheating on someone, you can clearly see that they’re not doing it out of spite, it’s out of love. Definitely a complete 180 from “He’s Just Not That Into You” and “Serendipity” lol. Which are both adorable, but I think I felt a cavity forming after watching those two back-to-back.
Annnnnd in other news, UPS didn’t screw me over for Valentine’s this year!!! My flowers ACTUALLY arrived lol. A few days late (mostly because snow and ice shut down the city this past weekend) but considering the alternative, I’m not complaining lol.  (And if you’re not acquainted with my bad blood with UPS, check out this post.) And they were beautiful! (Thanks babe :-)
Anyways, I should get back to work. *sigh*. Dragging much? Yeah. Happy Tuesday, y’all!

One Response to “Post-Valentine’s-ness”

  1. Wow Tey! We definitely must be kindred spirits because I LOVE Closer. I have watched that movie sooo many times. I just watched it last week. And everytime I watch it, I get something new out of it. Yeah the movie is definitely about Love, but not in the way that most movies project it. Sometimes love is messy…I was thinking about doing a post about Closer, glad you beat me to the punch.

Leave a Reply

