A stream of consciousness…

Hey y’all!

It’s been a few days and I was feeling the itch to post, even though there’s nothing in particular going on worth writing about…. lol. A wise person once told me that if you’re going to keep writing, make an effort to do it frequently and regularly, even if you have nothing to write about. I’m always a fan of good advice, so I’m taking it :)

So lets see, what’s new….. Ooh I made some “busstop friends”… lol. Really cool couple, Max and Cory. They live in my complex and ride the same bus as me every morning, and a few weeks ago we were commiserating about the awful cold weather down here and we kinda clicked. Definitely makes standing at the stop in 20-30 degree weather more enjoyable, and Max is hella funny lol. Yay for random friends :)

My friends and I are contemplating a trip to Mardi Gras…. lol I gotta say, I’m mildly nervous. Mardi Gras last year was INSANE, and I’m sure Saints Fever has kicked the celebration up a few thousand notches lol. People apparently got shot on Bourbon St. last weekend…. yikes. But it would be fun….. decisions decisions…
Reason #20893 that I moved South: Snowmageddon. 2 1/2 feet of snow across the Mid-Atlantic, with another 1 1/2-2 expected by the end of the day today. Yea, DMV, you’re mad…. lol. Poor things. At least you don’t have to go to work or school!!… Until March. lol. Enjoy that. (Sidenote: all that cold has still affected MY life in Atlanta…. can we hit 50 degrees again please? I SWEAR I saw a snowflake this morning. Unacceptable.)
Work is… work. lol. On the bright side though my actual patient interaction has been lower recently, so I’ve gotten to focus on things like finishing my paper and helping out with a few others and doing more data analysis. Gotta get that resume in check before the powers that be pull the GTP rug out from under me…. Stupid NIH. Never liked them. lol. And no it has nothing to do with the fact that they denied my job applications two years in a row. Nothing at all. How ya like me now hmmm???? I got publications out the wazooo lol. You wish I worked for you. Be Jealous, NIH. Be jealous.
New (ish) music that I’m obsessed with, Corinne Bailey Rae’s new album is GREAT. I’m so glad she’s back :) And I’m late on the bandwagon, but Sade’s back too?? 2010 is going to be a great year for music. (*fingers crossed*) If you haven’t heard “Soldier of Love” or “I’d Do It All Again” yet, you must. Must must must. Then throw some Melanie Fiona and The Noisettes in the mix (and  yes, I know the Noisettes aren’t new per se, but they’re new to me) aaaaaand you’re in business. *sigh* I really need a new Ipod…. But I have a long history of destroying them. Maybe I’ll just stick to Last.fm or Pandora lol.
Okie doke I think that does it for today’s brain drain lol. Nothing else I can think of… and I guess I should get back to work. Meh. Later!
Leave a Reply

