Can we get through Thanksgiving first? Please?

So back home, there’s a soft rock station called WASH-FM (97.1). Every year, once the holidays get into full swing, they play  non-stop Christmas music straight through until New Years. Now while I appreciate the concept (I LOVE Christmas lol, and all that goes with it) I do have one gripe.

Christmas does NOT immediately follow Halloween.

It is entirely UNACCEPTABLE that I’ve seen snowflakes and red window displays and Holiday Walmart commercials already, and I haven’t succumbed to a tryptophan-induced coma yet.

WTF people?? Can’t we give the turkey farmers their holiday? lol. And that station I mentioned above? They’ve shifted their Christmas music up a month. Instead of starting right after Thanksgiving, which is proper and good and totally understandable, they now start Christmas Music after Halloween. So I get to listen to “Jingle Bells” and “Ave Maria” while I’m trying to baste my turkey? No thanks.

Lets give all the holidays their due lol. I for one am a huge fan of Thanksgiving, mainly because I loooooooove to cook. My mom was sick last year, so I basically cooked dinner myself, and let me tell you, it was diviiiiiiiiiiiiiiine. 22 pound turkey, Gravy and Stuffing, Green Bean Casserole, Herb Mashed Potatoes, Pinto Beans, Lasagna, aaaaaand an Apple Pie (ok, that was out of the box lol.). Yummmmm.

Yeah, I know. You’re all drooling into your keyboards. lol. I’m like the African Emeril. :)

Honestly, any day where it’s socially acceptable for me to spend all day cooking and then eat myself into a mild stupor is A-OK with me lol. So no more discounting Thanksgiving.

The next inappropriately early Christmas decoration I see, I’m confiscating. You can have it back on November 27th.

One Response to “Can we get through Thanksgiving first? Please?”

  1. a. thanks for that description, now i'm feeling sad about not being around for thanksgiving (before i didn't care)b. not as bad as here…last time i went to oxford street (which was probably mid-october) there were christmas decorations up already

Leave a Reply

