I am SUCH a nerd… but I’m ok with that.

So yea, proof that by choosing the brain, I chose the right field of interest: I’m watching an episode of House that is literally one of the COOLEST cases I’ve ever seen. Three words, people:

Alien. Hand. Syndrome.

What is that, you ask? Well before you go wikipedia it (because I know I would, lol.) here’s a quick rundown: for one of some understood (and MANY not understood) reasons, the left and right hemispheres of your brain “disagree” about what your intentions/desires/likes/dislikes are. Let that boggle your mind for a second. lol.

Your left and right brains deal with two different parts of your whole; The Right brain is more creative, impulsive, and uninhibited, while the Left brain deals with more reason, logic, and constraint. People tend to lean one way or the other, with the other half regulating due to connections that go back and forth between the two halves. But what if those connections are interrupted, for instance in a Split Brain patient? (patients with a severing of the connections between the two halves)

In this episode, this man is a split brain patient (to relieve seizures) and his right brain HATES his girlfriend (which is sad, but resulted in a HILARIOUS display) so much, that while he’s gushing about how grateful he is for her help in this time of need, his left hand slapped the sense out of her. WTF??? lol  And while his left hand (right brain) hates medical procedures, it can be distracted by playing air guitar. Then his left brain makes him button his shirt, and the right makes him undo it. I just think that’s endlessly interesting. Imagine disagreeing with yourself on such a basic level that you can’t control it??? This goes waaaay deeper than indecisiveness.

One of the doctors on the show brought up a crazy thought too: Imagine if everyone really has two distinct personalities in them, we just manage to control them? So who’s normal? the AHS or MPD (Multiple Personality Disorder) people who let those “extra people” loose every once in a while, or those of us who are constantly restraining our other selves? What makes the dominant half dominant? What if that other person is more interesting than you are? More fun? More successful? Should all of us Right-Brainers go Left for a while, just to see what happens? Who knows. I’m going to keep pondering for the next 28 minutes lol.

Yea, I know, I’m a nerd. but c’mon this stuff is cool lol. Yes, I am the type of person who used to read my big purple Neuro text book for fun. Don’t judge me. lol.

2 Responses to “I am SUCH a nerd… but I’m ok with that.”

  1. I loved that episode of House too – especially the point where his left hand was grateful to his girlfriend!

    Have you read Oliver Sacks’ book “The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat”? That’s got all sorts of examples of people with split brains, or phantom limb syndrome (where you have lost a limb but it still itches) and one guy who had 2 legs, but thought one of them didn’t belong to him – he kept throwing it out of his bed every night and wondered why he ended up on the floor…

    Anyway, nerdiness is good – I get nerdy about maths, and I get some very strange looks for that sometimes – it’s worth it though.

  2. Yes!!! I had to read it for a class, I was mesmerized lol. So cool! And House is such a great show for nerdy inquisitive minds haha!

    Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

